Ayurvedic Doshas: An Introduction


This is a simplified description of a very complex system. The Three Doshas Vata, Pitta, and Kapha, are the three doshas or humors that make up an individual's constitution from the time of conception. All doshas are present within us at all times. However, we typically have a primary and secondary dosha for each one of our five koshas. The five elements present in the doshas are:

VATA = air + space
the result: dry, rough, clear, subtle, cold

PITTA = fire + water
the result: hot, warm, mobile, slightly oily

KAPHA = water + earth
the result: oily, moist, cool, pale, slow

TRIDOSHIC - balances all doshas